Bin File Particle Editor

Is there anything that you would like to see in future versions of RealFlow?
User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:35 am

Bin File Particle Editor

Post by Oldcode » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:46 am

Hi,

How about the ability to open a bin file and see all the particles and be able to edit/delete them?

Sometimes, I've got a simulation that is almost perfect, but there's just a few frames with stray shooting particles or particles stuck in inconvenient places.

If you could open the bin files up, select bad particle and delete it, that would be a lot fast than doing the simulation over again.

User avatar
LuisMiguel
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:37 pm

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by LuisMiguel » Mon Apr 01, 2013 8:11 am

Hi,

Yeah. We know. The bin file is not working properly when loading.

luisM.

User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by Oldcode » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:13 pm

Hi Luis,

No, I was not talking about the bin files loading improperly.

I simply mean if I've got a scene with a few stray particles where they should not be, I'd like to be able to select those particles and delete them directly instead of re-simulating.

For example. With high viscosity fluids, sometimes you get those shooting particles. If I didn't give it enough sub steps, and I have a few frames with stray particles shooting where they should not be, just deleting those particles would be a lot faster than adjusting the sub steps and running the simulation again.

User avatar
LuisMiguel
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:37 pm

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by LuisMiguel » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:53 am

Hey,

Mnnnn there was a wrong with the post. I though I was answering in another post :P

In order to remove the particles in Rf2012 you have two options. There is a tool "Particle selection" to make groups of selected particles and remove them. It is accesible by scripting too. The another way is making the move particles, directly from scripting if you have done already your simulation.

Code: Select all

for f in range (scene.getMinFrame(), scene.getMaxFrames() + 1):
 scene.setCurrentFrame( f )
 scene.enable_GUI_updates(False)
 emitter = Circle01.getSelectedParticles("partis")
 for e in emitter:
  id_p =  e.getId()
  Circle01.removeParticle(id_p)
 Circle01.export()
 scene.enable_GUI_updates(True) 
luisM.

User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by Oldcode » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:27 am

Thanks Luis,

Where can I find this tool? I don't see it on any of the menus, or is it only there with the script?

User avatar
tsn
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 am

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by tsn » Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:59 am

You can find it here:

RF main menu > Tools > Particle selection

A description can be found under http://support.nextlimit.com/display/rf ... Tools+Menu. Look for "Particle particle selection". The RF2013 manual will provide more and better information about this tool, but it's not public at the moment.
Thomas Schlick | Next Limit Technologies

User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by Oldcode » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:56 am

Hi TSN,

Oh there it is!!!! :oops: Sorry, I was not wearing my reading glasses.

Danke schön! :)

User avatar
LuisMiguel
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:37 pm

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by LuisMiguel » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:44 pm

Thanks ;)

luisM.

User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by Oldcode » Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:24 am

Hey thanks guys! That works, sort of... :?

I can select a particle and delete it, but I can't find out how to save the change to the BIN file. If I go to another frame and come back, the particles I deleted come back.

How do I save the changes I've made to the BIN file?

Thanks,

kimgar
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: Bin File Particle Editor

Post by kimgar » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:08 pm

new to python and RF script, but i guess "Circle01.export()" exports the bin

what is the syntax for accessing selection groups to check if the group is valid before starting the script?
Last edited by kimgar on Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply